There are several ways to ensure that your Facebook Messenger application is only for your eyes. One way to protect your Messenger application from prying eyes is to add an additional layer of security. You can do it by blocking your application with a password. That way, even if your device is unlocked by a malicious person, all the data in your Messenger application will be protected.
How to fix Facebook Messenger Hacked
- Update your device and applications
If you don’t think the app or phone updates are so important, think again. These updates are often crucial to your device and may come with the necessary security patches, bug fixes, and software updates. They can protect your device and applications from vulnerabilities that hackers might manipulate in the previous version of the software. If possible, make sure you are using a newer Android phone, receiving all the application and software updates, and installing these updates when available for your device.
- Be careful with suspicious links
One of the easiest ways for a hacker to access your account is by sending him a Facebook message containing a malicious link. Sometimes, these messages are sent by someone you don’t know, according to Facebook settings, but they can also be sent by one of your Facebook friends. If you receive a suspicious link from someone you don’t really talk to (or even one of your closest friends), avoid it. If you receive that link from a close friend, send him a text message or call him to ask if that message was intentional or not. If not, then chances are that your account was hacked. You can avoid this same destination by not clicking on any links from unknown sources or on links that seem unusual.
- Scan your devices for malware
If you use your Messenger application on a tablet and a smartphone, be sure to scan both devices regularly for malware. You may be above security for one device, but not for another, and that could be the device that allows a hacker to access your account.
I think my account is hacked or someone is using it without my permission
If you believe your account has been hacked or taken, you should visit this page to secure your account. We will ask you to change your password and review the recent login activity.
Your account may have been hacked if you notice:
- Your email or password has changed
- Your name or birthday has changed
- Friend requests have been sent to people you don’t know
- Messages you did not write have been sent
- Publications that you didn’t create have been made
You can also review these tools and tips to help keep your account safe. You may also want to learn how to protect yourself against malicious software that can potentially compromise your account.
Note: If the email associated with your Facebook account has changed, you can reverse this. When an email is changed, we send a message to the previous email account with a special link. You can click on this link to reverse the email change and secure your account.